top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJake Asmah

What is Intoxication?

Magic and alcohol

Now before we get started, let me mention a few things. Number one, not all the ideas that appear here are my own. These are my character that I have dreamed up opinions.


Two: I have been gone for awhile. This has been due to stress from school and from work as a content writer. If you need anything written give me a shout out. I need monies.


Three: Covid-19 believe it or not has not boosted my creativity. I'm a spontaneous kinda guy, so I'm learning to be self-disciplined.


Four: My next article will either be a debate about Justice between Soran and Karan, or a productivity guide for home work, as I am a shining example (not) of that. I'mma work in progress peeps.


Five: Enjoy the article, Don't forget to like and subscribe. Those help a ton! Leave a comment below, that also helps. (I don't make any money from this btw, so if you want to support the writing this is what you can do apart from financial support ;) )


The Interviewer twiddled his pen for a moment and wondered about who to summon next. He was enjoying his new job, but remaining so quiet irked him. Just asking questions was boring when there were whole new worlds to explore. Discussions excited him. Now he'd like to recall Soran, but he was busy dealing with a variety of problems, so his boss had restricted him from summoning him. The Interviewer sighed and flipped through a variety of individuals until he found one that looked interesting and terrifying.

. A smile curled across his face as the man scrolled through the information on the warrior— Karan Winterblessed, a white hair, piercing blue-eyed warrior every bit looking like a white wolf. A shudder ran down his spine; this would be interesting. It would be tough to maintain his mandated chill for this interview. Steeling himself, he pushed the button to summon Karan.

Karan appeared in the chair, his cold demeanor only shifting for a moment. Winterblessed fixed his cold eyes on the Interviewer, causing him to almost break into a cold sweat as the room seemed to push down on him. Was this his magic? For a split second, he feared for his life despite all the protection installed. This Winterblessed was a man who took Nietzsche's belief in the superior man to the ultimate conclusion, beyond powerful.


The Interviewer's face remained deadpan as he said the words. "Good afternoon, Sir Karan Winterblessed."


The interview explained

"You have one moment to answer who you are before I skewer you," Karan's voice said calmly, his hands following his intent as he drew his sword out of his sheathe with barely a whisper.

"Call me, Interviewer. We summoned you here for a few questions. We mean absolutely no hard to you. Our goal is to get perspectives on what people in different worlds believe about issues." The Interviewer eyed the massive Dragon-forged blade that Karan held with ease to the side. Karan started at the Interviewer, before sliding the sword back into his sheath slowly. "Go ahead, ask me the questions, and I will see if they are worthy of my response."

"Our topic today is to escape from reality through intoxication. We will define intoxication as meaning anything that takes away any of our ability to control ourselves. Specifically, in light of the Rational Principle and the pleasure principle.


The first of which states humans will always take the course that provides the most utility. On the other hand, the pleasure principle says that humans should either give in to their every base instinct and do what they want to do. If they do not they will be placed under heavy stress from the inside. You'll find the information about these in the papers spread in front of you. Please take the time to read them, then we will discuss them, Sir Karan."

Karan focused on the papers. The room became still except for the rustling of the documents. When he finished, Karan set down the papers, paused for a moment before he began to speak in his grave, deceptively soft voice. "I would see it in a more rational light, at least for myself. Intoxication is merely another thing in life to control ruthlessly."


The interview begins

The Interviewer nodded and thought swiftly what to ask before responding monotonically. "What do you mean by control?" "I see intoxication as another form of control. When someone is under the influence of something, that means the person is subservient, beneath it. That is why people are said to be intoxicated by love; they are controlled by their emotions.

I, on the other hand, exercise total control in every aspect of my life. My power over my whole self means I can also exert my dominance on other people. Therefore, why would I give over my self-control to something else? I will not be enticed and ruled over by emotions, people, things, or substances. Of course, weaker people may need some sort of help. They are unable to have self-control, so they give in to these things that control them."

"Let's come back to these weaker people later. What about people who control others but rely on something to help them keep going like alcohol? I have said. 'The oil that keeps the world grinding a long is alcohol.'"

Karan's lip curled downward slightly, and he leaned forward slightly, his eyes narrowing ever so slightly (the Interviewer had to force his smile back down). "Disgrace to leadership is what these… humans are. They can't handle their power and go to something to numb the responsibility and stress. By partaking in excess they demonstrate their weakness and inability to control whatever they go to.. Some form of insecurity or obvious inability of their bodies to handle what they have. Some humans did not originate with the will to power."

"Why is this?" The Interviewer began typing.

"Some are powerful; some are not. Some train their will and power to the sharpest edge like me." Karan's face turned into a hungry smile. "I was made to dominate endlessly and rule. There is no weakness, what weakness there is I will purge from myself with self discipline and rise to ruler of the world. One must rule himself before he can rule others."


The interview shifts

The temperature in the room sunk a bit lower, and the Interviewer slid backward in his chair, reacting to the intense aura. He needed to take a different angle to tease out the various details. "Now let's backtrack to these 'lesser' people, as you called them. In light of the pleasure principle, it makes sense to get intoxicated in your opinion right? They don't have the self-control as you do."

"Well, I'd say it depends on the situation. Everyone needs to have a level of self control and if they fail… they should be in socially acceptable place to get drunk like at home at night, out at a tavern, at a festival. If they must escape reality, they should even if I will despise them. That leaves the ruling to those who are fit like me. It makes my life easier when people are sated and all oiled up for a rough day. Now, if they are perhaps about to go to battle tomorrow in my army and they get intoxicated… I will string them up as war criminals. Everything has its place in the world and alcohol is no different. There is nothing I despise more than someone who cannot control themselves."

"Well, pleasure is all and good, but is it rational for people to get high on substances dangerous to them?"

Karan paused for a second, his blue eyes severe but, at the same time, almost sorrowful. "Have you ever looked death in the face? Have you heard the dying's cries for mercy as you finish them quicker to save them from pain? Have you ever woken up sweating from what you had done? This is what some of my men drink and smoke to forget. If it helps them do their job, and they don't let it get out of hand, I'm okay with it even if I do not allow myself to be dominated by it."

The Interviewer paused for a second before continuing. "But, what if they waste away all their money and eventually their lives on it?"

"Such fine lines between smart and stupid entertainment and pleasure. Future me or present me what is more important when the past me sneaks up. Most people have things in their lives they can't control."


The interview ends

The Interviewer leaned forward hungrily and asked the question he'd been dying to for a long time. "Like your desire to control, conquer, dominate everything in your life?"

Karan shrugged, but his eyes grew hard, and his hand inched toward his blade. "I live my life by the way I know how," he stretched out his hand calloused, strong but scarred. He began to speak again in a low tone." Any more questions?"

"What happens if you lose control?"

Karan snapped his finger. "Then you are gone and no longer your own. The delicate balance between the order and the chaos hangs all on the self-will of the individual. When they are thrown out of balance too far, you will destroy yourself in your own pursuits. My motivation upon which hangs my life is my desire to control and conquer. I will not hide behind lies." "What would you say for these people you deem as … unfit for control?"

"Find something to pursue. Some people need a crutch of something higher than them to control them.. Perhaps religion or the military, those are effective at giving you something almost tangible for a command structure." Karan's lips turned into a smirk as he leaned back in his chair.

The Interviewer smiled tightly. "Well, thank you for your opinions. I'm sure you'll hear from us again if we need you."

Karan's eyes tightened as he disappeared back to his world.

Leave a like and comment please!

53 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page